Last night…a run with the Run Dem Crew + a pep talk from her with legs, Run like ‘elle.

I’m still on a high from my run with the famous Run Dem Crew last night, a collective of well over 100 creative inspirational types that cut a mean figure in lycra. I had been following their escapades for a while since my friend Run Like ‘Elle is a member and herself launches into last minute unplanned challenges like running the Berlin half marathon on a whim after a particularly feisty Run Dem session – my thoughts were… in this last week before the marathon these are the guys to get you inspired. So after ALL these long dark months of training and running alone over 332 miles in total (wow!) I wrangled my way in through the back door thanks to the kindness of Sir Running Charlie Dark, founder, poet and rousing speaker… the RDC motto’s being AWAY AWAY AWAY, DO DA TING + GO HARD OR GO HOME. A group of the RDC are also running the London Marathon on Sunday and there was a lot of support and advice to get through the 26 mile from Charlie who is a marathon veteran himself.

I’ll be looking out for the RDC cheering squads who will be scattered around the 26 mile course. They’ve created this artwork I’ll be keeping a keen eye out for – I swear if I see this it’ll give me legs a little burst to get me on through.

I joined the greyhounds – the running group for the 8-9min/mile pacers, I ran with Peigh. Peigh is amazing. He kept me going, we chatted, we raced and we beat the lights – it was wicked (I think we even talked about a full marathon challenge hey P?!)

Once the run was over I got whisked off by the lady with the legs herself Run like ‘Elle for a glass of red (what?! Paula Radcliff SWEARS by a glass of red before a race). She imparted her knowledge of what to and what not to do including turning up to the start 50 mins late, as she did last year. Here are her top tips I swiped from here blog, read the full post here

It has to be noted that Elle is the reason I’m running the London Marathon. After a drunk conversation post Rufus pre Hudson we made a pact to run the marathon. We both got in yet I fell pregnant the week I got my entry accepted. That’s one way to get out of it you may say, but I deferred my place and have come back stronger after having Hudson.

Me + Run like 'Elle

Training for the London Marathon started when Hudson was 3 months old and I haven’t looked back – running is the one thing that I do for myself in the crazy baby world, my meditation and now after running with RDC I’ve met some fellow running lovers – the vibes at RDC are insane! I’m in awe of all of the RDC, my lady Run Like ‘Elle, Peigh and Charlie – this running thing just got real. Seriously the best night I’ve had in a long time. Big love.

This entry was posted in mummy running inspiration, mummy running runs, mummy running sees, mummy running thinks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Last night…a run with the Run Dem Crew + a pep talk from her with legs, Run like ‘elle.

  1. Czyk czyk one two says:

    This has made me all excited for you! Run like the wind! xx

Leave a comment